Beats on 100: Volume 1

If you’ve ever hung out with me or have ever seen me walking down the street, you’d know I always have a pair of headphones with me.

In fact, when I was packing for my summer training and competing with the Ghanaian National Athletics team, I made sure to pack 3 different pairs of headphones as back up.  The pair I had been using at the time were cheap and had been known to break pretty often.  (Even with 3 extra pairs, I still had to buy a new pair while I was abroad 😦 )

Basically, I can’t go very long in my daily life without music playing, workouts included.  Sometimes as background noise, and sometimes as a way to get a burst of energy to finish my last rep, music really gets me going and makes even the worst of workouts just a bit better.

Last week, my friend suggested I post my workout playlist on here.  I was a little hesitant about this; my taste in music is pretty eclectic, so I wasn’t sure anyone would really enjoy it.  The playlist that I use on my phone has music that ranges from pop to hip-hop to afrobeats (African music).

She did point out that sometimes people like to just browse through playlists to find a song or two that they might like, which I myself have been guilty of, so I agreed to give it a try.

I’m not sure if I’ll make bi-weekly or monthly posts, or if I’ll just have a link somewhere in my sidebar for people who want to check it out on their own.  I’ll decide after I see the reception this post gets.  Anyway, on to the songs!

Power Rush

  1. ALL THE TIME (TOVE LO FLIP)
  2. Eminem – Cinderella Man
  3. Eminem – Till I Collapse ft. Nate Dogg
  4. Evanescence – Bring Me To Life
  5. DJ Felli Fel – Get Buck In Here ft. Akon, Diddy & Ludacris
  6. Wale – Bait ft. TCB
  7. Sisqo – The Thong Song
  8. P-Square – Alingo
  9. eLDee – Higher ft. K9, Sojay
  10. Mayday Parade – Black Cat
  11. Maroon-5 – Moves Like Jagger

And here’s a link to the playlist on soundcloud: Power Rush

There’s only a few songs on it right now because I just made this particular playlist last week, but I’ll update it as I discover new songs and remember some old classics.

I’m always looking for more songs to listen to, so let me know what songs are on your playlist! What song is on repeat for you right now?  What motivates you during your workout?  Leave a comment and let me know!

Beats on 100: Volume 1

One thought on “Beats on 100: Volume 1

  1. Brandi Brittain says:

    Hey Gemma!
    Here are a few songs that I like to work out to–

    – Teedra Moses: Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Edition)
    – The Veronicas: Untouched
    – Nick Nikon: Put It On Me
    – Logic ft. Casey Veggies: Like Me

    Liked by 1 person

Any Thoughts?

