Weekly Eats #2 Featuring a Quick Apple Poptart Recipe

I didn’t realize until I made this post that I ate a ton of food this week.  I had my usual pasta dishes, a ton of sandwiches, and even baked!

I’ve included the apple poptart recipe for those that might want to try it out.  It’s quick, easy, and they turn out delicious!

Apple Poptart Recipe

Adopted from rosieeats.com.

Ingredients:

  • 1 store-bought pie crust dough
  • 2 apples (or any fruit you have or like)
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • a splash of lemon or orange juice
  • egg wash (1 egg mixed with splash of water)
  • 1 tablespoon of honey

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 425 F.

Unroll one of the pie crusts and square the edges. Cut into rectangles.

Cut the apples into chunks.  (You can remove the skin if you like, but I have a pretty good blender, so I just left them on).  Add the apple, cinnamon, and lemon juice to a blender and blend until it is the consistency of apple sauce.  Place a heaping spoon of the puree in the center of a rectangle and gently spread outward, keeping 1/4 inch bare around the perimeter. Wet edges of crust with the egg wash to seal it, and top with another piece of crust. Seal all the edges with a fork. Repeat until all of the pie crust is used.

Brush with egg wash and sprinkle with sugar and prick the tops with a fork to allow steam to escape. Bake in oven for 10-15 mins or until golden brown.

I brushed the tops with honey like in the original recipe, but next time, I won’t.  They were just a little too sweet for my liking.  Afterwards, I also realized a good idea would have been to cook the apple mixture for a few minutes to get more of that classic apple pie flavor.

And here’s some pictures of the process:

Weekly Eats #2 Featuring a Quick Apple Poptart Recipe

2 thoughts on “Weekly Eats #2 Featuring a Quick Apple Poptart Recipe

Any Thoughts?

