#MotivationMonday And Then Things Got Real

As powerful as our legs are, as magnificent as our lungs and arms and muscles are, nothing matters more than the mind.
—Scott Jurek, Eat & Run

So classes started last week.  After the first day I wondered why I ever complained about being bored and having nothing to do.  Suddenly my days were packed with reading, studying, and basically trying to stay on track and organized.  But that’s school for you.

I talked to my coach and started easing into some workouts.  It was just some easy biking, warming up, and feeling around in the weight room.  I was a little sore, but in that way that makes you feel good about yourself.  Or at least, it made me feel good about myself.  This week should bring a real step into more substantial workouts, which I’m looking forward to.

Yesterday, I talked to my closest friend on the team, and told her about my new attitude and how I’ve actually made substantial goals this year.  Usually, I do have goals, but they’ve always been very open and general; like “run faster” or “lift more”. I’ve also always been very wary of voicing them out loud.  To me, saying things out loud and putting them out there in the universe is pretty much like making a promise, and if I don’t reach that goal, then I’ll feel like a failure.  I’ll feel like I’ll have disappointed someone, and that, to me, is one of the worst emotions to have directed at me.  This year, I’m trying to look at it in a different sense.  I have sure goals I want to reach and telling someone what they are means I have to do it and try my best.  It’s giving a new spin on it, using it as a motivator instead of just thinking of it as added pressure and a deterrent.  My body is definitely going to get stronger, and I’d like for my mind to do the same.  So far, so good.  I’ll let you know how it’s going in a few more months.

Stay Active!

❤ Gemma

#MotivationMonday And Then Things Got Real

Any Thoughts?

